For All Time

I always thought that love was forever. He said that our love was timeless. I sit here on the floor, twisting the locket around and around in my hands. Outside the window I see the leaves of the lone standing tree in the compound sway to the gentle breeze. There is a lulling quality to the motion and looking at it fills me with inexplicable peace.

 

I still remember the day he gave me the locket. He prepared a lovely picnic for me, and after we were done with our meal, he presented me with a small black velvet box. Inside was a very beautiful sight; a solid gold heart shaped locket, attached to a thin gold chain. He showed me how he had affixed both of our photographs inside the hollow center, beneath which was the engraving: For All Time.

My hands had gone lax, and at this point, I was barely breathing. There are no words to describe the fullness my heart felt at that moment, or the next one when he sat up to loop the chain around my neck.

 

From that moment on, whenever he said he loved me, I believed it. Whenever he said that our love was timeless, his words ran true. After all, didn’t I always have a representation of his heart over my own?

 

I might try to make myself forget how it all changed, when he stopped looking at me with that special light in his eyes, but these events are ingrained in the deepest recesses of my mind. It all started when he arrived. The little one.

 

I always thought I would love my child. The kind of love that is limitless. Isn’t that expected of a mother? I tried, I really did. I would sit hours looking at the child, trying to feel, but it was a fruitless effort on my part. For every ounce of indifference I exhibited, the little one was showered with twice as much love from his father.

 

Slowly, I became normal again. I started to feel something towards the child. Resentment and the beginning stirrings of hate. What did he have that made his father look at him like that? Was he not the one who had always told me that our love was eternal, that we were living our very own happily ever after? When did the light in his eyes go dim for me?

 

After much thought on the matter, I reached a conclusion. Our perfect existence had been ruined. The only new factor in our lives was the child. If I wanted a love for all time, I would have to remove the piece of the puzzle that didn’t fit. It was the only way.

 

Finding the kitchen knife wasn’t hard. It was done in one swift strike to the head; he never saw it coming. The hard part was the waiting. He was at work then. What would he say when he came home? Would he be happy? I mean, I did it for him, for us. Now we could resume our forever.

 

Needless to say, he didn’t see it my way. So I find myself here. Alone. He tells me that he hates me, that I disgust him. I thought love would last forever. I guess I was wrong.
I should have started by introducing myself first. I apologize, my mother taught me better than that. My name is Miriam, but they call me insane.

One Reply to “For All Time”

Leave a Reply

